[Skip to content]

tab rollover pre-load tab rollover pre-load tab rollover pre-load tab rollover pre-load tab rollover pre-load tab rollover pre-load
Monday 26 July 2021
Salford News Header Montage
Latest News:
RSS icon
Staff Awards Event 2014

Salford Royal Success Stories at Awards

Salford Royal’s stars took centre stage at this year’s Staff Awards with more than 200 individuals or teams nominated for being compassionate, supportive and dedicated to providing excellent patient care.


The Clinical Haematology Team were crowned winners of the Trust’s Patient’s Star Award after being nominated by Barbara Whitehead for the way they cared for her late husband Albert.


The Patient’s Star Award gave patients and relatives the opportunity to nominate a team or individual who had gone above and beyond the call of duty to provide exceptional care, support or treatment. The shortlist was then put to the public vote.


Mrs Whitehead said during her husband’s illness, the Clinical Haematology staff gave him more than 100% love, care and attention to make his life a lot easier.


She added: “It means everything to me that the team won the award. Albert was the love of my life and the way they looked after him and cared for him was out of this world.


“They did everything they possibly could for him and they all mean so much to me; I will never forget them for as long as I live.”


Sir David Dalton presenting at the Staff Awards Event 2014

The awards night was held at Salford’s AJ Bell Stadium and the annual event recognises colleagues and teams who go the extra mile to provide safe, clean and personal care to every patient, every time.


Sir David Dalton, Chief Executive at Salford Royal, said; “The Staff Awards is such an important event in the calendar – a real opportunity to take time out to recognise the achievements of the organisation and those who work within it.”

The winners were:

Administrator / Secretarial Worker of the Year

Kay Aitken, Medical Secretary, Radiology


Allied Health Professional / Technical / Scientific Worker of the Year

Michelle Ward, Physiotherapist, Intermediate Care


Collaboration Award

Tracheostomy Steering Group


Doctor of the Year Award

Arun Abraham, Specialist Doctor, IFU


Individual Volunteer of the Year Award

Ann Hardie, Critical Care


Jill Simpson Award for Clinical Excellence

Young Adult Renal Clinic


Leadership Award

Dave Simpson, Matron, Ward L2


Lin Hurst Award

Sarah Rust, District Nursing Sister, Eccles District Nurses


Nurse of the Year Award

Rachel Meskell, Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Nurse Practitioner, Colorectal


Patient’s Star Award

Clinical Haematology Team


Research Practitioner of the Year Award

Victoria O’Loughlin, Team Lead, Hyperacute Stroke Research Centre


Support Worker of the Year Award

Jane Cooper, Clinical Support Worker, ICU


Team Contribution to Patient Care

The Motor Neurone Disease Team


The Big Idea / Safely Reducing Costs Award

Michelle Fletcher, Housekeeper, Critical Care


Improving Personal Care Award

Dementia Team


Improving Safety Award

Quality Improvement Team


Improving Cleanliness Award

Lead Nurses Debra Dooley, Amanda Hobson and Fiona Bentham, on behalf of their community colleagues (Team Leaders Gwen Nash, Sue Icke, Karen Childs, Rachel Moorhouse, Kath Faulkes, Dawn Thomund, Victoria Allen, Rebecca Coop, Jeanette King)


Chief Executive’s Award

Jacqui Varden, Ward H8 SCAPE Matron


Chairman’s Award for ‘Unsung Hero’

Out of Hours District Nursing Team


Scape Wards

H2, Theatre Recovery Level 1 and 3, B8, H5, H7 and the Neuro High Dependency Unit.


[ Zoom ]
Staff Awards 2014 - Patient Star winners
Patient Star Cateory
[ Zoom ]
Staff Awards 2014 - Nurse category
Nurse category
[ Zoom ]
Staff Awards 2014 - Dr category
Doctor category
[ Zoom ]
Staff Awards 2014 - Jill Simpson category
Jill Simpson category
[ Zoom ]
Staff Awards 2014 - Research category
Research category
[ Zoom ]
Staff Awards 2014 - Lin Hurst category
Lin Hurst category